The last wish

Sitting on the verandah one fine evening when the reddish sun was approaching to the horizon, when the cool breeze was blowing, i was weaving my own house of dreams,forgetting the world for quite a some time. Suddenly my dreams broke, i felt something tickling on my ankle, a whispering i heard. A brownish, dry mango tree Leaf ‘the 550th one’ most probably if i counted it correct, had come to bid last goodbye to me.

It has been more than four and a half year since her mother and I came to know each other. I remember how happy I was when I brought a small sapling from a nursery which used to fall on my way to college.Since then she is a part of my garden.

From that day we both have seen same sunrise, experienced the hot scorching sun, the snowfall and every weather together.She wakes me up by throwing the rays through its leaves, it appears as the leaves are doing the job of a filter paper. And when i refuse to wake up, she twists and besnd yhe light to annoy, to wake me up reluctantly.

When i am sad, i can put my head in her lap sharing my feelings. When i cry, she carries my tears in leaflet and may be she asks- isn’t this appears like pearls? Never let them drop. She is my best friend always ready to give me company.

Sometimes I forget to water her and care her, she fades down, still she doea not complain me ever, i feel guilty when i see her like this.

She dance with me every rainy season. Her leaves, her branches mmake different movements. The raindrops falling on her leaves make tiper-taper sound. At the Crescendo her energy is enormous,swaying forcefully if left-right direction. I can say she enjoys more than me. Once I went to take selfie with her in rain, but she refused to make a selfie pout. Well! I tease her for this many a times.

In the Spring when i am busy telling her about my stuffs, she comes to allure me and many of the birds with her mesmerising essence and beauty. The perfect contrasted flowers with fresh green leaves suits her best. I am awfully thankful to her for giving me the this heavenly experience in my garden. In the easy breezy blow this essence is transmitted miles away, may be she wants to say someyhing to others.

She sings the odes to west wind usually when i get bored. Moreover, it becomes a song for me to take naps.

Journey of a leaf:

As soon as autumn comes my mango tree starts becoming sad and weeps at every falling leaf. And now this ‘550th leaf’

I have seen its enitre life journey;how it turned from green to pale then brownish. 

Every leaf has its own story, how it takes the sunlight, wind, rain and snow etc. The shape size the folds are the chapters of their story, a brief account if their struggle and achievements.

I heard her whispering now that she has a last wish- she does not want to be troden by pedesterians or any vehicle, even she not at all wants to be burnt in fire and turn into ash and smoke.

So i have preserved it in a box, where her other 549 siblings are also there.

If you have any other option, let me know in the comment box!

Happy blogging 🙂

2 thoughts on “The last wish

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – S.D. Mayes – “Letters to the Pianist” (Historical Thriller/Suspense) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment